STScI Logo

Space Telescope Science Institute
Feedback in the Magellanic Clouds

Conference Banner image

About The Event

Monday, October 5-Wednesday, October 7, 2015

The goal of this workshop is to bring together the communities studying feedback in the Magellanic Clouds on both stellar and galactic scales. As the nearest gas-rich dwarf galaxies, the Magellanic Clouds offer a superb opportunity for studying the radiative, chemical, and mechanical feedback from star formation at high spatial resolution. We will discuss recent multi-wavelength observations that trace the impact of star formation in the Magellanic Clouds on the surrounding interstellar medium, and on the larger-scale evolution of the two galaxies. A broader objective is to explore the role of feedback in the Magellanic Clouds in the context of other dwarf galaxies. Topics to be addressed include:

  • MC stellar feedback in mechanical, radiative, and chemical forms
  • MC feedback on cluster scales
  • MC feedback on galactic scales
  • MC feedback from theoretical and numerical perspectives
  • MC feedback in the context of other dwarf galaxies

Space permitting, workshop talks are open to astronomers from all local (Maryland & Washington DC) institutions without registering.

The registration fee is $150.00 USD, and will cover breakfast and coffee breaks. A separate fee will be charged for the workshop dinner to be held on October 6, 2015.

Important dates:

  • August 31, 2015: Registration closes. Registration will close sooner if maximum capacity is reached.
  • October 5, 2015: Workshop begins

Due to unexpected demand for attendance, registration is currently limited only to those who submitted abstracts. Others interested in participating should email to be added to the wait list.

For more information, visit:

Confirmed Invited Speakers

  • Gurtina Besla
  • Martha Boyer
  • Paul Crowther
  • Jim Dale
  • Jay Gallagher
  • Eva Grebel
  • Stephen Justham
  • Nicolas Lehner
  • Jacco van Loon
  • Eve Ostriker
  • Snezana Stanimirovic
  • Tea Temim
  • Leisa Townsley

Organizing Committee

  • Bill Blair
  • Alex Fullerton
  • Andrew Fox (chair)
  • Sherita Hanna (coordinator)
  • Margaret Meixner
  • Julia Roman-Duval
  • Elena Sabbi (co-chair)
  • Hugues Sana
  • Linda Smith
  • Roeland van der Marel
  • Nolan Walborn